About Brucosport


The Brucosport association was founded in 1980 to create a network in Sports Medicine in Belgium and all over the world, always on a high scientific level and well updated in this quickly evolving discipline.

From 1980 until 2004 Brucosport organized an annual two-day international congress in the heart of medieval Bruges.

25 editions later Brucosport took a break to reinvent itself and find a new identity in the booming branch of Sports Medicine congresses.

From 2009 Brucosport 2.0 started with a new formula: a one-day congress, biennial, Dutch-spoken and one central theme gathering experts from all possible subdisciplines. The massive attendance proved the new formula to be a success.

2017 is a lustrum edition. We organize our 30th congress and after 37 years our founding president dr. Michel D’Hooghe will pass the torch to dr. Jan De Neve.

For this occasion Brucosport will once again return to an international, English-spoken edition.

The central theme will be “football”, the sport in which dr. D’Hooghe spent a full medical career, setting out the medical outlines from the top at FIFA and UEFA.

Thanks to his many international contacts built up throughout the whole of his career, we were able to attract internationally renowned speakers. True to our recent philosophy, we created a mixed programme with Belgian top speakers.

We hope to welcome you all for the congress in the concert building of Bruges and our subsequent banquet in the marvelous Provincial Palace at the central Market Place.

Members of Brucosport vzw

Bouwen Anne
De Neve Jan
Dhondt Eric
D'Hooghe Isabelle
D'Hooghe Michel
D'Hooghe Pieter
Gabriels Johan
Meirhaeghe Maarten
Peene Isabelle
Piette Yves
Slock Dominique
Vandecasteele Kris
Van den Steen Elke
Van Paemel Filip
Van Paemel Guido
Watteyne Karel
Watteyne Roland